SEPTEMBER 17, 2024 MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MODOT AND PATROL EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM

MPERS' Office Building 1913 William St. Jefferson City, MO 65109

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

Ms. Sue Cox, Chair Master Sergeant Wallace Ahrens Senator Mike Bernskoetter Commissioner W. Dustin Boatwright Commissioner Warren Erdman Commissioner Dan Hegeman Colonel Eric Olson Mr. Bill Seibert Mr. Todd Tyler

TRUSTEES ABSENT:

Representative Barry Hovis Mr. Patrick McKenna

GUESTS:

Mr. Keith Stronkowsky, NEPC Mr. Ken Alberts, GRS Ms. Heidi Barry, GRS Mr. Mike Winter, Legislative Consultant

STAFF PRESENT:

Mr. Scott Simon, Executive Director Ms. Greta Bassett-Seymour, Deputy Executive Director & General Counsel Mr. Larry Krummen, Chief Investment Officer Ms. Jennifer Even, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Katy Lacy, Human Resources Officer Ms. Lindsey Harris-Funk, Assistant Chief Financial Officer Mr. Mark Caplinger, Manager of Investments Ms. Jennifer Johnson, Manager of Investments Ms. Mary Jordan, Senior Benefit Counselor Mr. Luke Fortson, Investment Officer Mr. Rowan Walquist, Investment Analyst Ms. Melissa Gourd, Board Administrator

A regularly scheduled meeting of the Missouri Department of Transportation and Highway Patrol Employees' Retirement System (MPERS) was held on Tuesday, September 17, 2024, at the System's office located at 1913 William Street in Jefferson City, Missouri. Ms. Sue Cox called the meeting to order pursuant to section 104.108 of the Missouri Revised Statutes, as amended.

Ms. Cox welcomed Master Sergeant Wallace Ahrens to his first MPERS Board meeting.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Commissioner Hegeman moved to approve the minutes of the meeting held on June 20, 2024. Commissioner Erdman seconded. Motion carried.

Commissioner Erdman moved to approve the minutes of the special meeting held on August 14, 2024. Mr. Tyler seconded. Motion carried.

The Chair and Executive Director were authorized and directed to sign and certify the minutes and to file them in the office of the Executive Director.

RESULTS OF BOARD SPECIAL ELECTION

Mr. Simon presented the Board with the results of the special election to fill the active Highway Patrol representative seat vacated by Trooper Matt Morice. Master Sergeant Wallace Ahrens was the only candidate. Colonel Olson moved that the Board accept the nomination of Master Sergeant Ahrens and confirm him to the Board. Mr. Seibert seconded. Motion carried.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

Ms. Cox announced that Trooper Matt Morice's resignation from the Board created a vacancy in the Vice Chair position. Mr. Seibert nominated Mr. Todd Tyler for Vice Chair. Sen. Bernskoetter seconded. There were no additional nominees. Motion carried.

BOARD SELF-EVALUATION

The *Board Self-Evaluation Policy* requires an annual self-evaluation unless the Board elects otherwise. Ms. Cox stated that the last self-evaluation process was completed in November 2023. After board discussion, Mr. Seibert moved to forgo the board self-evaluation this year. Commissioner Erdman seconded. Motion carried.

ANNUAL ACTUARIAL VALUATION REPORT

Presenters: Mr. Ken Alberts and Ms. Heidi Barry, GRS

Representatives from MPERS' actuary, GRS, presented the annual actuarial valuation results previously furnished for the Board's review and consideration.

The annual actuarial valuation is designed to measure the overall financial condition of the System. During Fiscal Year 2024, MPERS' funded status increased from 69% to 70.6%.

CERTIFY CONTRIBUTION RATE

The annual valuation provides the basis for determining employer contribution rates for the next fiscal year, which must be certified by the Board and provided to employers by October 1 each year. Commissioner Erdman moved to accept the recommended employer contribution rate of 37.013% for the non-uniformed group and 58.005% for the uniformed group. Mr. Seibert seconded. Motion carried.

FY 2024 VITAL SIGNS

Mr. Simon updated the Board on the System's vital signs. He noted that there are no areas of concern with all outcomes as expected.

INVESTMENT COMMITTEE REPORT

Ms. Cox reported that the Investment Committee met before the board meeting. During this meeting, Ms. Cox appointed herself chair of the Committee due to the resignation of Trooper Matt Morice, previously the Investment Committee Chair. The Committee heard presentations

from the Board's Investment Consultant, NEPC, on several topics. Detailed information was presented about MPERS' current liquidity analysis, the private markets pacing plan, the semiannual internal fixed income review, and a management fee analysis. The Committee also discussed the National Security and Financial Sanctions Policy, which was reviewed and updated last year. The Committee did not recommend any changes to the policy this year.

INVESTMENT REPORTS

Presenters: Mr. Larry Krummen, Chief Investment Officer, and Keith Stronkowsky, NEPC

Mr. Krummen provided the CIO report. The portfolio value is \$3.667 billion, and the fiscal year return is 13.29%.

Keith Stronkowsky with NEPC, the Board's investment consultant, provided the second quarter investment summary report.

DIRECTOR'S COMMENTS

Mr. Simon updated the Board on the projected timeline of the new building.

VOTE TO CLOSE MEETING

Ms. Cox requested a motion to convene in a closed session and noted that no additional open business would occur following the executive session.

In accordance with section 610.021(3) & (13), RSMo., Senator Bernskoetter made a motion to convene in closed session to discuss personnel matters. Mr. Seibert seconded. A roll call vote was taken.

Master Sergeant Ahrens, Aye Senator Bernskoetter, Aye Commissioner Boatwright, Aye Ms. Cox, Aye Commissioner Erdman, Aye Commissioner Hegeman, Aye Colonel Olson, Aye Mr. Seibert, Aye Mr. Tyler, Aye

Motion carried.

ADJOURN

Upon return to open session, Commissioner Hegeman made a motion to adjourn. Sen. Bernskoetter seconded. Motion carried.